Lack of good label affects my career — Wadada

Gospel reggae artiste WADADA

Gospel reggae artiste WADADA

Gospel reggae artiste, Austin Peter otherwise called King Wadada, has identified his inability to get a good label to promote his works as one of the problems confronting his music career.

The singer, who has released three albums viz Holy! Holy! Holy!, If men Were God and Omnipotent God, said his latest experience with a record label was not a pleasant one.

He added that his music career would have progressed long ago if he could float his own label and have enough resources to promote his works.

Wadada said, ‘‘I am currently not with any label. I am on my own doing my thing. Many of my fans may wonder where I have been but I have been around, performing at concerts. I want to take my time to re-launch my music. The thing is that we do not have good record labels and that is why many artistes continue to establish their own labels to promote their works. If I get a good record label or buoyant enough to sponsor my music, I know that things cannot be the way they are now musically.’’

According to the musician, the music industry is advancing and artistes who are creative and consistent will reap bountifully from it.

He also advised his colleagues to desist from singing vulgar songs in a bid to take advantage of the listening public.   ‘‘I know that some artistes are in haste to establish themselves in the industry but we should also know that the outside world watches what we churn out. I do not think it is proper for us to pack our albums full of vulgarity because it seems that is what now sells. Foreign artistes who listen to such songs will be surprised that they are trash without sensible messages,’’ he stated.

Wadada further urged his fans to continue believing in him as he repackages and extends the frontiers of his career to absorb attention-grabbing entertainment shows within and outside the country.

http://www.facebook.com/prienblog
twitter @prienblog
PIN: 2858BDF5
PHONE: 08052063461

Leave a Reply

