I still act in Nollywood – Ali Nuhu

Kannywood’s most celebrated actor, Ali Nuhu, has denied the rumour that he no longer partakes in Nollywood movies.
Speaking to PREMIUM TIMES, Nuhu, a multiple-award winner, said that he saw nothing wrong with bringing his talent to both Nollywood and Kannywood and had never left the former.

“Right now as I am talking to you, I have two scripts which I am supposed to act in and they are both Nollywood scripts. We shall start recording soon,” he said.
Nuhu, who has been in the Nigerian movie industry for 15 years, is one of the most famous actors from Northern Nigeria. His fame has led to ambassadorship deals with popular brands such as Glo and Samsung Nigeria.

Nuhu’s dreams of becoming an actor started as a child but he only followed it up during his school days at the University of Jos.
“Awwalu Salihu, a programmes manager then at NTA Jos gave me my first role in a drama programme for the station,” he said.

His break into the movies came when he met a Nollywood director, Uzo Ojukwu, who was shooting a film in Jos. Ojukwu said he needed somebody who could speak an Indian language as he was featuring an Indian, and Nuhu got the role.

“I acted in the movie and others started coming, like Return of Kazondia, House on Fire, and Mama Sunday. All these movies I acted in while I was still in school,” the handsome actor with boyish good looks said.

After graduation, Nuhu went on to serve in Oyo State. From there, he relocated to Lagos where he featured in The Dream, starring comedian, John “Mr. Ibu” Okafor. He featured in several other Nollywood movies before moving to Kano, according to him, to contribute to building Kannywood.

“I started acting in Kannywood under the mentorship of people like Hajara Usman, Bashir Nayaya and Tijjani Ibrahim,” he said.
Over the years, he has acted in both in English and Hausa productions and has received many awards for his hard work and commitment to the Nigerian film industry.

“The awards I cherish the most include, the African Movie Academy Award, AMAA, the Africa magic Viewers’ Choice Award, AMVCA, African Film Festival and Academy Awards (ZAFAA) and Afro Hollywood awards. There are many others too that I like but these ones I mentioned are very important to me because of their local and international recognition,” he said.

Other milestones and memorable times in Nuhu’s career include the first time he produced a movie and it was shown in the cinema.

“I can’t forget the joy and the praises
coming from the people who watched the film. Also, films like Wasila, Mujadala, Sangaya are films that makes me happy all the time because they are my early Hausa films and I like them so much,” he said.

However, one day he would never forget was the day he received the news of the death of fellow Kannywood actor, Ahmed S. Nuhu, in a car accident along Kano-Maiduguri Road.

“That incident really shocked me and I do not think that I have gotten so upset by any other incident. I was so close to him. He was related to me and we happened to be doing the same business, acting. I was really devastated that day,” he said.

Being an acclaimed actor and one of the famous faces of Kannywood, Nuhu has had the opportunity to mentor other actors, including the late Ahmed, Adam Zango, Hafsat Shehu, Maryam Hiyana and the late Ibrahim B. Nuhu.

The 40-year-old, who is married with two children, also mentors his young son who, according to Nuhu, has featured in many Kannywood films.

“My son also features in many Kannywood films and I will give him all the support if at the end of the day he chooses acting as his career,” Nuhu said.

To upcoming Kannywood celebrities, Ali Nuhu advised them to stay focused and never derail from their career choice.

“To my fans also I appreciate the support and God willing I shall not fail them. I shall always bring the best to them,” he said.

Leave a Reply

